Ray’s Pizza (1.5.09)

What a typical New York commute this morning. I took a bit of a different route, walking west on 12th, when I ran into a friend I hadn’t seen in a long time, before we had dinner with other friends on Friday night. Then I cut down, got to 11th where I see Ray’s Pizza.

Ray’s Pizza (the Original Ray’s or Famous Ray’s or whatever else Ray’s) has become big enough a deal to even be a joke in the Will Ferrell movie Elf. Santa say’s “there are, like, thirty Ray’s Pizzas. They all claim to be the original. But the real one’s on 11th.”

Ray's Pizza

Ray's Pizza

So after I walk past Ray’s I get to W10th street where Kiefer Sutherland darts out of a building in front of me and jumps into a shiny Lincoln Towncar. I felt like an extra in 24.

A good start to the new year.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Ray’s Pizza (1.5.09)

  1. theatrdiva says:

    Thanks for letting me know where the REAL Ray’s is- no one else I HAVE ASKD ever knew for sure. Now, the question- do you know if the pizza is better than any of the other Ray’s? The one near my apartment on the UES is TERRIBLE.

  2. Jill says:

    Interestingly, I saw Matt Dillon coming out of that very Ray’s – but it was around 1982. And some do say that this is the best Ray’s of them all. I find it a little bit doughy.

  3. Michael says:

    According to the Travel Channel special on Pizza Wars, the original was founded in 1959 on Prince St by Ralph (“Rafie”) Cuomo. According to AllExperts.com, the one the others modeled themselves after (much thicker than a NY slice) was Ray’s on Sixth Ave.

  4. Emily says:

    Michael, the Ray’s on 6th Ave is the one on 11th St. It sits on the corner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

