Where can a guy get a damn cupcake around here?

Sweet Revenge: The Next Best Thing to Beef Jerky

Sweet Revenge: A Real Man's Cupcake Joint

Let me just say that the sangria was seriously strong, ok?  Like, taking a shot of Jack and doing push ups while watching the training scene in Rocky IV kind of strong.  Oh, who am I kidding?  The sangria was perfectly fine and the cupcakes were on the verge of to die for.  Wait, did I say cupcakes?  Cupcakes and sangria?  Please, don’t take my man card away!  I was only at Sweet Revenge, a West Village cupcake, artisan sandwich, savory cake and wine/beer bar with a few women from my writing class.  I mean, a few dudes I trade motorcycle accident stories with.

Sweet Revenge is a hip place and I really respect the owner, Marlo Scott, who I only later learned was the woman working behind the bar and serving tables.  (Click here for her story)  I’d never experienced anything like this place before — cupcakes paired with wines or beers.  You can order separately, but I was so curious as to how one pairs a peanut butter and chocolate ganashe cupcake with booze that I had to try it.  You should too. So good.

Sweet Revenge: 62 Carmine St. between Bedford and 7th Ave.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Where can a guy get a damn cupcake around here?

  1. Jill says:

    It’s official, you have turned the corner into full womanhood.

  2. GC says:

    sounds like a seriously sweet find. I am salivating! (some alliteration for you)

  3. teach says:

    I had the opportunity to try out this charmingly sweet haunt for lunch on a recent visit to NYC. It truly is a find! The waitresses greeted everyone as if they had returned as old friends. The food was great and the red velvet cupcake was truly the best experience my taste buds have had in a long time. I need to go back for the prosecco belini. Yum! Thanks for the recommendation.

  4. Chanel says:

    I also love CRUMBS. Best cupcakes I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

