Happy Chinese New Year!

It’s a gift when you can walk 15 minutes and find yourself right in the middle of the Chinese New Year parade. One of the biggest! Happy Year of the Tiger! Here are a few of my favorite images from the day. More shots can be found on my Flickr page.

After an hour or so, the streets were so full you could barely move. People were shooting off tube poppers all over, showering the crowds with confetti and good luck parachutes.

The whole scene was magical. I could have been in Beijing for all I knew. But it was just 15 minutes from my apartment in Gramercy, where my television was set to DVR repeat episodes of Jersey Shore and other programs only an American could love.

The dragon costumes were out of control colorful and beautiful. But I wondered about the men in them. What was their story. This has to be an honor, I would assume, as they are the ones who go to each storefront and do a dance in the doorway to bring good luck to the owner.

And there’s nothing like a good high-five to kick off any celebration.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Happy Chinese New Year!

  1. Dennis says:

    hey, u said it was the year of the dragon. Common, go ask around, it is the year of the Tiger

    • Marc Cappelletti says:

      Wow. Complete brain slippage. And I knew that, hence the photo of the tigers. Thanks for keeping me honest and double checking my work!

Leave a Reply

