New York iPhone Photography

I’m really having trouble with this.  I’m walking around Central Park, on my way to meet friends, and in the few seconds that I have here and there I’m able to take photos with my iPhone that I never could have with my SLR. Are they going to win any awards? No. Do my others? No. What I’m so caught up with is how much art and how much freedom of expression is coming out of this new technology. Photos that are completely average now, with the power of technology, can become really fun and interesting. Like these belly dancers.

Or these.  They’re not even good photos. Nothing exceptionally striking or even technically on point, yet I keep looking at them.  Am I falling for the bells and whistles that make the finicky art form of film processing as easy as pushing a button?  Is this good for the art world or bad?  Has the photography of long heavy lenses and expensive glass met its match with convenient perfectly acceptable point and shoots?  Even phones?  As I stood here taking shots with my phone I saw tourists hauling around the long lenses I’ve aspired to scrape together the money to buy.  But as I see them struggle and check their settings and fuss with their shoulder straps I take five shots, a video of some choreographed dancers, and I’m off to meet my friends with the phone back in my pocket. Those who are still skeptical, check out the iphone groups on Flickr. People are doing amazing phone photography.

One thought on “New York iPhone Photography

  1. Gina Lazar says:

    “Has the photography of long heavy lenses and expensive glass met its match with convenient perfectly acceptable point and shoots?”

    Very well-spoken, indeed. And I would answer with a resounding “yes!”

    Nevertheless, it’s nice to have long, heavy lenses and expensive glass for more difficult shots, nighttime photography, and the like.

    Fabulous blog, btw! I’m a fan.

Leave a Reply

