New York City Snowstorm Brings Arctic Visitors

New York City Snowstorm, originally uploaded by marc.cappelletti.

If you live in Manhattan I’m sure you’ll agree that getting to work this morning felt more like an Arctic expedition than a commute. For me, this is appropriate, considering that I work for Lindblad Expeditions. We, in alliance with National Geographic, offer expeditions to the world’s wildest places, including the Arctic.

The streets and sidewalks of lower Manhattan are covered with 10 inches to waist-high drifts of white powder. The wind stings. There is an eerie silence in the air. By the time I walked from 21st and 3rd to our office in the West Village I didn’t think it would be too much of a stretch to combine these two wintery geographies. Maybe I was suffering from snow sickness (that’s a thing, right?), but I figured that if I saw two polar bears walking down fifth avenue it wouldn’t seem that out of place.

Two plastic ones on our rooftop was the best I could do. Enjoy the snowy day.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

